Photo Slideshow Play Photo Slideshow Pause
Welcome Message
About Mediation
Mediation Information Office
Mediation Co-ordinator's Offices
Mediation Videos
Practice Directions
Working Party on Mediation
Mediation Figures and Statistics
Judgments related to Mediation
Publications
Press Releases
Speeches
Related Links
Relevant Papers
Hong Kong Judiciary
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

FAQs on Mediation < About Mediation

Print繁體版简体版
 
What is Mediation?
Why consider mediation? What are the advantages of mediation?
How much will mediation cost?
How long does mediation take?
What cases are suitable for mediation and what are not?
How is mediation different from arbitration and litigation?
How can the parties be sure that mediation will produce a fair result?
How does mediation apply in Land Compulsory Sales Cases?
If I choose mediation, will I still need to appoint a lawyer?
How can a mediation organization help me?
How can I appoint a Mediator?
Who are the Accredited Mediators?
How does mediation work in civil cases?
What do I need to prepare before mediation?
Do I have to go to mediation?
What if the parties don't settle?
Confidentiality

 

Q1 What is Mediation?
A1
What is Mediation?
Mediation is a voluntary process in which a trained and impartial third person, the mediator, helps the parties in dispute to reach an amicable settlement that is responsive to their needs and acceptable to all sides.

During the process, each party to the dispute has a chance to put his/her case and to hear what the other side has to say. The mediator's job is not to make a decision for the parties, but to assist the parties to explore the strengths and weaknesses of their own cases and to identify possible solutions, so as to facilitate them to reach a settlement agreement. The mediator does not decide who is right or wrong and has no authority to impose a settlement on the parties, the decision-making power rests in the hands of them. The mediator is skilled in unlocking negotiations that have become deadlocked and in keeping everyone focused on finding a solution.

page top

Q2 Why consider mediation? What are the advantages of mediation?
A2.a
Why consider mediation?
  • Parties can avoid suffering from the anxiety and disturbances to their normal life which are the natural consequences of an adversarial litigation in court.

  • Parties can avoid the risk of losing the litigation.

  • Parties can avoid confrontation with the other as an amicable settlement can be achieved by mediation.

  • Parties can save time and money in not having to contest matters in court with an early settlement as litigation is a much longer process than mediation.

  • Parties can make their own decisions and reach agreements with which the parties may be more willing and ready to comply.

  • The settlement terms can be kept private and confidential.

  • Mediation can result in terms of settlement of greater flexibility and in more practical ways going beyond the legal remedies that the court is empowered to grant. The solutions developed by the parties can be unique to the dispute and are ones that the court cannot provide.

  • Mediation can help maintain a continuing relationship with the other party or parties involved in the dispute and may improve that relationship.

  • The chance of appeal is minimal, in contrast to litigation.

There are other advantages over going to court:

  • If the parties' dispute involves undisclosed issues, mediation, unlike a structured court case, offers the opportunity and flexibility to search them out.

  • Unlike the formal and tensed atmosphere in the court, mediation is conducted in a more relaxed and informal manner under which parties tend to be more open to compromise.
A2.b
What are the advantages of mediation?
Especially for Family Mediation:
  • In particular, family mediation can improve the communication between the parties.

  • Family mediation can enhance the parties' continuing relationship as parents and help them work better together as parents in the long-run.

page top

Q3 How much will mediation cost?
A3
How much will mediation cost?
The parties will have to pay if they receive the mediation service from a private mediator. The parties should talk to their legal adviser about the likely costs of mediation, and how this would mean when compared with the cost of litigation. In most cases, mediation is much cheaper and faster than litigation.

Charges in mediation mainly include the mediator's fees for his/her time and other disbursements, for example, room charges. It is usual for the parties to agree before the start of the mediation that they will be responsible to pay the fees in equal shares. If a party decides to instruct lawyers or other professional persons to assist him/her in the mediation, the party himself/herself will be responsible for any such charges.

page top

Q4 How long does mediation take?
A4
How long does mediation take?
It depends on:
  • the complexity and number of issues the parties need to settle;
  • the degree of the parties' cooperation and readiness to participate in the mediation sessions.

If issues are not complicated and the process goes smoothly, it may only take one mediation session lasting for a day, or 2 to 3 mediation sessions lasting for about a few hours each, for the parties to reach agreement.

page top

Q5 What cases are suitable for mediation and what are not?
A5
What cases are suitable for mediation and what are not?
Mediation is suitable for nearly all kinds of disputes.

Mediation is suitable in many cases although it may not be suitable for every case. The interested parties may be invited to attend a preliminary meeting in which the mediator will assess whether mediation is suitable for their particular circumstances, or their legal adviser may be able to help them decide.

For cases where there is a genuine dispute requiring the court to give a declaratory relief, the parties may need to go for litigation.

Family disputes involving child abuse, domestic violence, etc. are not suitable for mediation as a party's decision to enter into a settlement may be unduly influenced.

In a family dispute, where one or more of the parties are in a severely disturbed emotional or psychological state, such that they cannot represent themselves or focus on the needs of their children, is not suitable for mediation.

page top

Q6 How is mediation different from arbitration and litigation?
A6
How is mediation different from arbitration and litigation?
Arbitration

  • Arbitration is a legal process which is the resolution of disputes outside the courts. It results in an award imposed by the arbitrator or arbitrators. For an arbitration to take place, the disputing parties must agree to take their dispute to arbitration. If parties have agreed to arbitration, they will generally have to go to arbitration rather than court as the courts will normally refuse to hear their case by staying it to force the reluctant party to honour their agreement to arbitrate.

  • Arbitration awards are final and binding on the parties and can only be challenged in very exceptional circumstances. An award has a status very similar to a court judgment and is enforceable in a like manner. Arbitration awards made in Hong Kong are enforceable through the courts of most of the countries involving in international trade.

  • Arbitration is a form of binding dispute resolution, equivalent to litigation in the courts, and entirely distinct from the various forms of non-binding dispute resolution, such as negotiation, mediation, or non-binding determinations by experts.
Litigation
  • In the absence of an arbitration agreement or other consensual means of dispute resolution, the parties may commence proceedings in the courts.

  • The judicial system in Hong Kong is adversarial. The parties should present their case to the court for its determination. The judge will act as an umpire and make decisions after considering the evidence and hearing the arguments from the parties. The losing party will normally be ordered to pay the costs to the winning party. The costs are the expenses that the winning party has to spend on the preparation and hearing of the matter, including the expenses for the solicitors and barristers representing them. The amount of the costs can be substantial, depending on factors including the complexity of the case, the work required for preparation of hearing and the length of the hearing.

page top

Q7 How can the parties be sure that mediation will produce a fair result?
A7
How can the parties be sure that mediation will produce a fair result?
The work of a mediator is not to make a decision for the parties. The mediator helps the parties think beyond the present situation for possible solutions to the dispute, thus enabling the parties to find the path to dispute resolution that suits them best. The parties will work to come out a solution to their own dispute. Unless they totally agree, there will be no final resolution and nobody can force them to sign any agreement.

In a mediation session, the mediator will help the parties to:
  • Discuss and decide what matters are in dispute;
  • Explore each party's real needs and interests;
  • Expand settlement options and assess the most suitable solution;
  • Draw up the settlement agreement in detail, setting out how the parties have agreed to resolve each matter in dispute.

page top

Q8 How does mediation apply in Land Compulsory Sales Cases?
A8
How does mediation apply in Land Compulsory Sales Cases?
For FAQs on Mediation in related to Land Compulsory Sale Cases, please click here.

page top

Q9 If I choose mediation, will I still need to appoint a lawyer?
A9
If I choose mediation, will I still need to appoint a lawyer?
In general, you do not need a lawyer to participate in mediation. However, if you consider consulting a lawyer could facilitate you better understand the law that applies to your disputes and prepare for mediation, you may do so. Before an agreement is reached in mediation, some people may seek independent legal advice. As a general rule, mediators, even if they are qualified lawyers, will not give legal advice during mediation to avoid conflict of interest.

If you need legal advice, you are suggested to make your own arrangements in advance. The mediator is an independent third party and must remain impartial and neutral. In the process of discussions with the mediator, no legal advice should be expected to be given from him/her.

page top

Q10 How can a mediation organization help me?
A10
How can a mediation organization help me?
Various organizations in Hong Kong maintain their own list of mediators covering many areas and professional disciplines appropriate to the dispute in question. Parties can select from the lists and agree on a suitable mediator. In case of difficulty, they can consider contacting a mediation provider/organization for assistance.

page top

Q11 How can I appoint a Mediator?
A11
How can I appoint a Mediator?
Various organizations in Hong Kong maintain their own list of mediators. Each organization has its own requirements for placing a mediator on its list, such as requirements covering knowledge and skills in negotiation and dispute resolution. Mediators may also be required to abide by an Ethical and Professional Code of Practice of their respective organizations. The parties can select from the lists and agree on a suitable mediator. Your lawyer may help you to select a mediator or you may approach the Mediation Information Office if you need information as to where to find a mediator/mediation body to resolve your disputes.

Mediators can be lawyers, medical professionals, social workers, management professionals, engineers and other trained professionals. You should appoint a mutually agreed mediator since this individual is going to help communicate on your differences.

page top

Q12 Who are the Accredited Mediators?
A12
Who are the Accredited Mediators?
Mediators usually come from various professional backgrounds and have undergone training in mediation skills and techniques. They have to meet accreditation requirements covering knowledge and skills in negotiation and dispute resolution. They are also required to abide by a Code of Practice.  The accreditation bodies will handle the complaints against the mediators.

page top

Q13 How does mediation work in civil cases?
A13
How does mediation work in civil cases?
The mediator may conduct a pre-mediation individual interview with each party outside a court setting, usually in a private office. Then the mediator starts the mediation with a joint session to explain the mediation process and ground rules. In the joint session the parties will make opening presentations to share their views on the disputes and clearly define the issues.

Private meetings/caucusing: if agreement is unable to be reached at the joint session, the mediator will usually suggest the parties to retire to separate rooms and he/she will pass between parties assisting them to assess the feasibility of their negotiation terms. All matters discussed with the mediator at private meetings are confidential, and will not be disclosed by the mediator to the other party without explicit consent.

Throughout the process the mediator helps the parties evaluate the case, identify their fundamental interests, explore and consider possible consequences if the dispute is not settled, develop alternatives to deal with various issues in the dispute, and formulate proposals that would help move the process towards mutual agreement.

The parties may terminate the mediation sessions anytime during the process. If agreement is reached, the parties will sign the agreement which will be binding on the parties. Under the circumstance that an agreement cannot be reached but the outlook is positive, the mediator may take the approach of suggesting parties to take some time to think over the outcome of the meeting. After that the mediator may contact them regarding unresolved matters. Even an agreement is failed to be reached by the parties at the end of the meeting, it can still consider to be helpful as it will contribute to the understanding of the point of view of each party.

page top

Q14 What do I need to prepare before mediation?
A14
What do I need to prepare before mediation?
  • Familiarize yourself with the facts of the case;
  • Consider in advance various acceptable settlement options;
  • Seek prior legal advice if necessary;
  • Most importantly, arrange to have individuals whose decisions are necessary for resolution present for the entire mediation.

page top

Q15 Do I have to go to mediation?
A15
Do I have to go to mediation?
No - the mediation process is entirely voluntary, however, if the dispute is or will be subject to Court proceedings, the Court will take into account all relevant circumstances, including whether a party has unreasonably refused to take part in mediation, in exercising its discretion to award costs. You may face an enhanced costs order if the Court finds that you refused an offer to mediate unreasonably.

page top

Q16 What if the parties don't settle?
A16
What if the parties don't settle?
If the parties could not reach any agreement, they may consider bringing the issue/case to Court and going through the litigation process.

Both parties must appreciate that all discussions during a mediation session is on a privileged and without prejudice basis – this means that nothing discussed can be used as evidence in future legal proceedings. (See also the answer to Question relating to Confidentiality below)

The parties will not be at a disadvantage after trying mediation which turns out to be unsuccessful. They may find out that the issues are clearer as a result.

page top

Q17 Confidentiality
A17
Confidentiality
According to the Mediation Ordinance, a person must not disclose a mediation communication* except under specified circumstances, for example, with the consent of all parties and the mediator or where there are reasonable grounds to believe that the disclosure is necessary to prevent danger of injury to a person or of serious harm to the well being of a child, or with the leave of the court.

Mediation is considered to be a private and confidential process. Firstly, the mediation process must be remained confidential at all times in that no third party is to be privy to the proceedings other than the parties and mediator. Secondly, under no circumstance should any matters discussed in private sessions be disclosed to the other party by the mediator without permission.


* Mediation communication means anything said or done, any document prepared, and any information provided for the purpose of or in the course of mediation. See Sec 2 and 8 of the Mediation Ordinance, Cap 620 for details.

page top

Disclaimer

This publication is for general reference only and should not be treated as a complete or authoritative statement of law or court practice. Whilst every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided is accurate, it does not constitute legal or other professional advice. The Judiciary cannot be held responsible for the content of this publication.

page top

幻燈圖片播放 幻燈圖片停止
歡迎辭
關於調解
調解資訊中心
調解統籌主任辦事處
調解短片
實務指示
調解工作小組
調解統計數字
有關調解的判案書
司法機構刊物
新聞稿
演辭
相關網站
參考文件
司法機構
遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

調解常見問答集 < 關於調解

列印简体版English Version
 
甚麽是調解?
爲何考慮調解?調解有甚麽好處?
調解需要多少費用?
調解需要多少時間?
甚麽案件適合調解?哪些案件卻不適合調解?
調解與仲裁、或訴訟有何不同?
當事人如何可以肯定調解會帶給他們公平的結果?
調解如何適用於強制售賣土地案件?
如果我選擇調解,我仍然需要委託律師嗎?
調解機構可以怎樣幫我?
怎樣委任調解員?
誰是認可調解員?
在民事案件中,調解是怎樣進行的?
在調解前,我需要做什麽準備工作?
我是否必須參與調解?
當事人不能達成和解又怎樣呢?
保密

 

問1 甚麽是調解?
答1
調解是一種自願參與的程序,當中由一名公正和受過訓練的第三者,即調解員,協助爭議各方在良好的氣氛下,達成既能滿足各方所需,又為各方所接受的和解。

在調解過程中,爭議各方均有機會陳述本身的論點,和聆聽對方的説法。調解員的任務並非為各方作出決定,而是幫助各方探討本身論據的強弱,並尋求可行的解決方案,從而利便各方達成和解協議。調解員不會就誰對誰錯作出裁決,亦無權強行各方和解;作出決定的權力始終在爭議各方的手上。調解員接受過專門訓練,善於打破談判僵局,並能令各方專注於尋求解決方案。

回頁首

問2 爲何考慮調解?調解有甚麽好處?
答2.a
  • 在抗辯式的法庭訴訟中,當事人既會感到焦慮,而其日常生活又會受到打擾,這些都是自然而然的後果,但調解卻可避免出現這些後果。

  • 當事人可避免訴訟及成爲敗訴一方的風險。

  • 當事人藉著調解,可在良好的氣氛下達成和解,避免與對方出現對峙的局面。

  • 當事人無須把爭議訴諸法庭,既省時又省錢;相比於訴訟,調解的過程快捷得多,當事人因而可早日達成和解。

  • 當事人可自行作出決定和達成協議,因而會更願意和作好準備遵守協議。

  • 和解協議的條款可保密和不外洩。

  • 通過調解,當事人可達成較靈活和實際的和解條款,該等條款往往超越法院所能作出的法律補救的局限;此外,由當事人因應相關爭議,可自行制訂獨特的解決方案,亦是法院所無法提供的。

  • 調解有助維持各方當事人的關係,甚至改善彼此之間的關係。

  • 相對於訴訟而言,經調解後各方提出上訴的情況大大減少。

相比於訴諸法庭,調解還有其他好處:

  • 如果當事人的爭議牽涉一些未披露的商議事項,相對於講求結構井然的法庭案件,調解可讓當事人在不受法庭程序的規限下而找出該等商議事項。

  • 相對於法庭嚴謹和緊張的氣氛,調解是以較輕鬆和隨和的方式進行,當事人在這種氣氛下,比較願意進行協商。
答2.b
特別就家事調解而言:
  • 家事調解尤其可增進當事人彼此的溝通。

  • 家事調解可增強當事人作爲父母的持續關係,長遠來說,並可幫助當事人履行為人父母的責任時合作得更好。

回頁首

問3 調解需要多少費用?
答3
當事人如接受私人執業的調解員所提供的調解服務,必須支付費用。當事人應諮詢自己的法律顧問,以了解調解服務大概的收費,並與訴訟的費用作出比較。就大部分的情況而言,調解比訴訟所需的費用少得多,過程也快捷得多。

調解的費用主要包括調解員的按時收費及其他費用,譬如租用會議室的費用。各方當事人一般會在調解進行之前,協議平均分擔調解的費用。某方當事人如果決定聘用律師或其他專業人士在調解的過程中提供專業意見,當事人需自行負責支付有關的服務收費。

請按此處參閱最新平均每宗原訟法庭個案所需的調解費用

請按此處參閱最新平均每宗區域法院個案所需的調解費用

回頁首

問4 調解需要多少時間?
答4
調解需時長短視乎:
  • 爭議事項的多寡和複雜程度而定;
  • 各方當事人的合作程度和參與調解會議的意願而定。

如爭議事項不太複雜,而調解過程又順利的話,爭議各方或只需參與一次調解會議(需時一天),或兩至三次調解會議(每次需時約數小時)便可達成協議。

請按此處參閱最新平均每宗原訟法庭個案所需的調解時間

請按此處參閱最新平均每宗區域法院個案所需的調解時間

請按此處參閱最新有關原訟法庭案件由委任調解員至完成整個調解過程平均所需的日數

請按此處參閱最新有關區域法院案件由委任調解員至完成整個調解過程平均所需的日數

回頁首

問5 甚麽案件適合調解?哪些案件卻不適合調解?
答5
調解差不多適用於所有種類的爭議。

雖然調解並非適用於每一宗案件,但許多案件都適合進行調解。有關的各方當事人或會獲邀出席初步會面,會上調解員將因應各方個別的情況,評估其案件是否適合進行調解。各方當事人也可諮詢自己的法律顧問,以便作出決定。

如當事人之間的爭議,確實需要由法庭頒佈宣告性質的濟助,當事人或需進行訴訟。

調解不適用於涉及虐待兒童、家庭暴力等的家事糾紛,以免某方當事人是基於不當之影響下而決定和解。

如家事糾紛中的一方或多方當事人,因情緒或心理上受到嚴重困擾,以致無法代表自己或專注於子女的需要,這等情況均不適合調解。

回頁首

問6 調解與仲裁、或訴訟有何不同?
答6
仲裁

  • 仲裁是在法院以外進行的解決爭議的一種法律途徑,仲裁的結果是由一名或一名以上的仲裁員所作的裁決。爭議各方必須同意把爭議提交仲裁,仲裁方可進行。如當事人已同意仲裁,他們一般會把爭議提交仲裁解決,而不會訴諸法院,因爲在此情況下,法院通常會拒絕審理並擱置有關案件,從而令不願意的一方履行提交仲裁的協定。

  • 仲裁裁決是終局並對當事人具有約束力的,並只在極特殊的情況下,才可對裁決提出質疑。仲裁裁決與法院判決極爲相似,並可以同樣方式予以強制執行。在香港作出的仲裁裁決,可通過涉及國際貿易的大部分國家的法院予以強制執行。

  • 仲裁是一種具約束力的解決爭議的方式,相等於在法院提起訴訟,而與各種不具約束力的解決爭議的方式,比如談判、調解或無約束力的專家決斷,截然不同。
訴訟
  • 如當事人並無訂立仲裁協議或其他協定的解決爭議的方法,當事人可在法院開展法律程序。

  • 香港的司法制度是抗辯式訴訟制度。各方當事人須提交本身論據給法院,以作裁決。法官扮演裁判的角色,在考慮各方的證據以及聆聽各方的論據後,作出決定。敗訴一方通常須按命令支付訟費給勝訴一方。訟費為勝訴一方在籌備有關事宜作審理所作的支出,包括聘請代表律師及大律師的支出。訟費的款額可以很龐大,影響款額的因素視乎案件的複雜程度、籌備聆訊所作的工作,以及聆訊所需的時間等。

回頁首

問7 當事人如何可以肯定調解會帶給他們公平的結果?
答7
調解員的任務並非為當事人作出決定,而是協助當事人超越當前情況的局限,思考解決爭議的可行方法,並促使當事人找出最爲適合的解決爭議的途徑。當事人在共同努力下找出解決爭議的方法。除非各方當事人完全同意,否則任何曾經商議的解決方案都不是最終的。任何人都不能強迫當事人簽署任何和解協議。

在調解會議中,調解員會協助當事人:
  • 商討和確定受爭議的事項;
  • 探討各方的實際需要和權益所在;
  • 擴大和解方案的選擇範圍,並評估哪一個解決方案最爲適合;
  • 擬訂詳細的和解協議,就每項爭議列出各方所同意的解決方式。

回頁首

問8 調解如何適用於強制售賣土地案件?
答8
有關強制售賣土地案件的調解常見問答,請按此處

回頁首

問9 如果我選擇調解,我仍然需要委託律師嗎?
答9
一般來説,參與調解是無須委託律師的。但是,如果你認爲諮詢律師,有助了解有關爭議事項所適用的法律及為調解作準備,你可以尋求律師的意見。有些人達成最終協議前,會先行尋求獨立的法律意見。一般而言,即使調解員本人是合資格的律師,但爲了避免出現利益衝突的情況,調解員在調解過程中不會給予法律意見。

如果你需要尋求法律意見,應先自行作出安排。調解員是獨立的第三者,必須維持公正和中立。所以,在與調解員商討的過程中,不應期望調解員給予法律意見。

回頁首

問10 調解機構可以怎樣幫我?
答10

香港許多機構都各自備有調解員名冊,為各類的爭議提供適合其範疇和專業的調解員。當事人可以從名冊中選擇和協定適合的調解員。如有困難,他們可以考慮聯絡提供調解服務的機構,尋求協助。

為推動本港調解專業發展, 由當時律政司司長領導的調解專責小組及轄下資格評審組, 與業界主要持份者合作下, 於2012年成立了由業界主導的「香港調解資歷評審協會有限公司」(簡稱「調評會」) 。調評會是一個非法定及屬業界主導的資歷評審機構, 負責訂定調解員及調解課程的評審標準, 務求調解員的專業水平達至國際標準。經調評會認可的調解員均須遵守由律政司調解工作小組訂定的《香港調解守則》, 並接受該會的紀律程序約束。調評會是香港目前擁有最多調解員的機構。當事人可考慮選擇巳得到調評會認可之調解員為其提供調解服務。


回頁首

問11 怎樣委任調解員?
答11
香港許多機構都各自備有調解員名冊。各機構就收錄調解員自行定下不同的要求,這些要求包括談判和解決糾紛的知識和技巧。調解員亦或須遵守有關機構的《道德及專業實務守則》。當事人可以從名冊中選擇和協定適合的調解員。除了你的律師可以助你選擇調解員外,司法機構調解資訊中心亦可向你提供有關選取調解員或調解服務機構的途徑。

調解員可以是律師、醫學專業人士、社會工作者、管理學專業人士、工程師或其他受過訓練的專業人士。由於調解員會協助各方當事人商討彼此的分歧,因此當事人應該共同委任一名各方同意的調解員。

回頁首

問12 誰是認可調解員?
答12
調解員一般來自不同的專業背景,並且接受過有關調解技巧和方法的訓練。他們須要符合擔當調解員的認可要求,這些要求包括談判和解決糾紛的知識和技巧。此外,他們亦必須遵守從事調解工作的實務守則。針對調解員而提出的投訴則會由認可機構處理。

回頁首

問13 在民事案件中,調解是怎樣進行的?
答13
調解員一般在法庭以外的地方,通常在私人辦公室,與各方舉行調解前的個別會面。然後,調解員會安排共同會談以開始調解,會上調解員會解釋調解的程序和基本原則。各方當事人接著輪流陳述爭議立場和訴求,和清楚界定爭論的範圍。

單獨會面/非聯合會議:如在共同會談中無法達成協議,調解員通常會建議各方當事人進入不同的房間,而調解員會穿梭其間,協助各方當事人評估所作決定的可行性。與調解員在單獨會談中所有討論的事宜,一概保密,而除非得到當事人的明確同意,否則調解員是不會向另一方披露的。

在整個過程中,調解員會協助各方當事人評估本身個案的情況,指出其各自基本的權益,探討並考慮爭議不能達成和解的後果,找出各爭論點的不同處理方案,以及藉制訂建議,促使各方當事人朝著達成相互協議的路途前進。

各方當事人可在調解過程中隨時終止調解會議。如達成協議,各方當事人須在協議上簽署;經簽署的協議對各方當事人均具約束力。如即使當時無法達成協議,但前景是樂觀的,調解員可建議暫停會議,讓各方當事人有時間仔細考慮會議的結果。之後,調解員可就未解決的事項再聯絡各方當事人。即使會議結束時,各方當事人未能達成任何協議,但會議仍然有助各方當事人瞭解對方的觀點。

回頁首

問14 在調解前,我需要做什麽準備工作?
答14
  • 熟習有關案情的背景和爭議事項;
  • 事先考慮可接受的不同和解方案;
  • 如有必要,先行尋求法律意見;
  • 最重要的是,如個別人士的決定,對解決爭議起關鍵作用的話,必須安排有關人士出席整個調解過程。

回頁首

問15 我是否必須參與調解?
答15
否 – 參與調解完全屬自願性質;但是,若就爭議事項已在或將在法庭開展法律程序,法庭在行使酌情權裁定訟費時,會考慮所有相關情況,包括考慮某方是否在沒有合理的解釋下,拒絕參與調解。如法庭認爲你沒有合理的解釋而拒絕對方的調解要約,法庭可對你作出增大訟費款額的命令。

回頁首

問16 當事人不能達成和解又怎樣呢?
答16
如當事人不能達成任何協議,可考慮通過訴訟,把爭論點/案件提交法庭解決。

雙方必須明白,所有在調解會議中作出的商討,均在受保密權涵蓋及無損權益的基礎上進行–即是任何的商討内容,均不可在未來的法律程序中用作證據。(請同時參閱下題有關保密的問答)

經調解商議後,當事人會發現對爭議事項更為清晰;即使調解未能成功,對當事人也並非亳無裨益。

回頁首

問17 保密
答17
根據《調解條例》,任何人不得披露調解通訊*,以下特定情況則屬例外,例如是得到調解的每一方和調解員的同意,或有合理理由相信必須作出披露以防止任何人受傷或未成年人的福祉受嚴重損害,或獲得法院的許可下作出披露等。

調解的過程在任何時候均被視爲不可公開和必須保密。第一,調解過程在所有時候必須保密,除各方當事人及調解員外,絕無第三者參與有關程序。第二,在任何情況下,如未獲當事人准許,調解員不得向另一方披露在單獨會談中商討的任何事宜。


*調解通訊指為調解的目的或在調解的過程中而說出的任何說話或作出的任何作為,擬備的任何交件;或提供的任何資料。詳情參閱《調解條例》(香港法例第620章第2及第8條。)

回頁首

免責聲明

此文本只作一般參考用途,不應被視為法律或法院常規的詳盡或具權威性的說明。雖然我們已盡力確保所提供的資料準確無誤,但本文本的內容並非法律或專業意見。
請注意: 對本文本的內容,司法機構並不承擔任何責任。

回頁首